Formula E Is Back For Season 2!

Formula E 2015 Season 2
Formula E 2015 Season 2

Formula E kicked off Season 2 on October 24th, 2015 in Bejing China. They’ve scheduled 11 races all over the world, with the next one taking place on November 7th in Putrajaya, Malaysia. What can we expect from season 2?

The line up of season one drivers is largely the same, with a few adjustments. First season favorites Nelson Piquet, Sebastien Buemi (who just won the first race of the 2015 season), Sam Bird and Nicolas Prost are participating in season two. Of note is the addition of female driver Simona de Silvestro. She won Rookie of the Year at the 2010 Indy 500 and is currently signed up with Andretti.

Perhaps the most exciting aspect of season 2 is the permission given to individual racing teams to acquire and develop their own cars. In season 1, racers were confined to a standard vehicle used by all participants in the race. In season 2 we will see development of new powertrain solutions, which incorporates the e-motor, inverter and transmission, with future regulation changes allowing for further battery development.

There have also been some qualifying adjustments this season. The qualifications now include a Super Pole shoot-out to secure Julius Baer pole position. Qualifying is now directly based on setting the fastest time and determines the starting grid for the race. The qualifying session lasts one hour with each group having six minutes to set their best lap.

Plugin Motorwerks will be supplying updates for Formula E season 2, so keep checking back!